The Hunt is on – Hair.

21 Jul

My mop. Destined to be unruly and rebellious since 1988. Even at 25 I have not yet mastered it, usually I let it do what it wants because most of the time I can work the bed head boho look, but sometimes, just sometimes to be able to style it would be beautiful.

Throughout this post series i’ve been scouring the corners of the internet and local ish shops to find the perfect wedding guest ensemble in just 6 weeks. So far we have the accessories narrowed down (help me pick here), we have the shoes!! and we have the dress (and what a beaut she is!) if you’re interested in how this madness began click here!

Anyway onto the taming of the tresses! Summer hair trends are beautiful aren’t they? I love the boho vibe, natural and sexy this is definitely the way I want to go hair wise for this wedding. I have been scouring Pinterest for inspiration and found so many gorgeous styles but the one thing i’d be longing to try was the ombre trend. I know,  I know it’s been done to death but I wanted to add a twist to mine that I hadn’t seen before! I wanted a redhead ombre!

Picture 547

I had my hair ombred a few weeks ago and I am so so so pleased with the result! I really didn’t want bleach blonde at the tips as on some people it can look incredibly unflattering and unnatural. I had the bleach applied to backcombed hair so it gave a softer gradient effect. Then after this had done its work a toner and copper top colour put on. Five long hours later my tresses have never looked  better.

I have thought long and hard about how to style my hair for the actual day. Usually my hair style choices include; down, ponytail or a twist bun. Exciting right? So fed up of styling it in the same three ways. I desperately want to master a new hair style and keeping in the theme of things a boho updo would be wonderful, although ambitious.

Scouring Pinterest for inspiration I fell in love with these visuals.

cf3e0b99c86a0942dfd8997ce3867dd2

A really pretty updo with big side plat wrapped and pinned into a bun. I think this is really pretty and topped off with a hair band it would be wonderful to wear to a wedding however I really cannot french plat my hair to save my life. Something I really need to practice!

dd87a6d749778248f750777034e309e5

This is similar to the one above except a looser messier version, I love it! The flowers add a nice touch with the odd curl and fly away section of hair. I will give this a go but again I will struggle with the braid. 362d17f9b03e424fb276d5495d304453All images sourced from Pinterest

I really love the messy beach / boho vibe I am a proper wild child at heart. I have really naturally thick hair so it’s going to be a struggle to not use all the bobby pins in Britain to contain my mane but I had a go! My attempt to recreate a version of all the above pictures in one. Naturally I won’t be able to replicate this exact hair on the day but I am much more confident in attempting a boho hairstyle.

Please excuse my lack of makeup in these pictures, makeup on Sundays is banned for me unless we have somewhere to go! I will of course attempt to conceal the bobby pins better on the day but you hopefully get the gist of what i’m after achieving. This took me around 20 minutes to do.

Picture 569

Picture 566Picture 563

Assuming you’re not cowering in terror behind the nearest cushion at my naked face then thank you kindly for bearing these pictures!

Hope you all like the hair, messy yes but i’m so chuffed I managed something that looks half way decent.

Much Love x

12 Responses to “The Hunt is on – Hair.”

  1. Amy Corke (@AmyCorke91) July 21, 2013 at 7:07 pm #

    Your hairstyle in the second picture is so beautiful! 🙂 xx

    • Little Red July 21, 2013 at 7:42 pm #

      Aw thank you hun! Glad you like it 🙂

      xx

  2. theunicahija July 21, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

    You look so pretty! I wish I had longer hair so I can style it. Actually no, I wish I had the skills to actually do stuff with my hair but I don’t. Maybe practice? Love the post! 🙂

    • Little Red July 21, 2013 at 8:16 pm #

      Thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely comment! I am rubbish with my hair but determined to get better 🙂 We can all do it! give it a go! xx

  3. sarastylestampa July 21, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    These are all so beautiful and your hair would work great with them!
    I love the effortless grace of the braids.
    Cheers!!
    Sara

  4. Lilliwhiterose (@Lilliwhiterose) July 21, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    You hair is beautiful, looks like you could have it anyway and still look stunning. Have to say i really like the side plait that goes into a bun. Can’t wait to see the finish results and everything together xx

    • Little Red July 21, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

      Thanks Hun 🙂 I found some beautiful styles on Pinterest I don’t think my amateur attempts could do any if them justice! Xxx

  5. Daphne @ Peanut Butter and Chocolate Life July 22, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

    Hey Red! I love the boho laid back look of your hair! And the curls in it, it’s easy to dress up or dress down! xx

    Daphne | Peanut Butter and Chocolate Life | bloglovin

  6. Emma August 5, 2013 at 11:59 am #

    Your hair looks great! x

  7. MakeUpMonster (@makeupmonster_) August 13, 2013 at 3:05 pm #

    Your hair looks gorgeous love the ombre in it!

    • Little Red August 24, 2013 at 4:02 pm #

      thank you I still love my ombre! x

Leave a Reply

