A twist on ’50 Facts about me’

12 Jul

I have read so many ’50 facts about me’ posts lately, getting to know the blogger behind the ramblings is great so here is my contribution with a twist.

Everyone gets sentimental from time to time, people treasure memories and items for years and what looks like an old cinema stubb to you may have it’s own life story to someone else. Rather then share 50 random things about myself I wanted to open my keepsake box to you and share my sentimental stories.

Different I know and this won’t be to everyone’s taste but to me these are jigsaw pieces of my life’s puzzle.

Picture 561

 

This box hides away in my home, full of unrealised treasures to the untrained eye, to me, all I need to do is sort through its contents to remind myself how I got to where I am now and all the smiles along the way.

Picture 553

I love taking photographs. Simple things with so much value. I keep photographs of people i’ve loved and lost, old school friends, beloved pets, places I have traveled and the people I want to remember along the way.

The framed picture is myself and an old boyfriend, his photos remind me of the years we shared and his lust for life. He passed away from cancer nearly 3 and a 1/2 years ago but there isn’t a day goes by where I am not thankful for how he shaped my look on life. Old school friends and silly antics still make me smile, although most of these I am no longer in touch with these photos remind me of the only good years at high school I had. The photo at the back in the middle is of Ilfracombe in North Devon. I holidayed here most of my childhood and I have very fond memories of the place, this particular picture is bright and colourful which is how I remember most of my childhood holidays to be.

Myself at 17 and how skinny I was! Happy again on the beach in Devon, wearing a bikini top in England..shocking right? My first dog Putney, a cocker spaniel we rescued from the Bristol Dogs Home when I was 8, his fur was a similar colour to my hair when I was young so naturally at that age I was convinced we were related in some strange way.

Picture 554

Tickets from various gigs I have been to, a signed Good Food Show ticket by Jamie Oliver. Cards from my grandparents on my baptism day. I was born into a Mormon family at went to church for many years, although it’s not for me a lot of my family still are active in the Mormon community, I am grateful for a lot of the morals and ideals I was raised with as a member of the church. The train ticket from the day I met Rob (framed photo), one of the days i’ll remember for the rest of my life.

Picture 555

Reminding myself where i’ve been in life and where I want to go. My travel pack from Rome, this was my first time abroad and I loved visiting all the historic monuments I have read so much about. I bought rosary beads from outside the Vatican which I felt were a true souvenir from Italy.

My various jobs i’ve had over the years, I like to keep my name badges to remind myself of the work i’ve done and how it’s all helped me become the person I am today. A photo of my first boyfriend and I at our sixth form prom, his suit and tie were way too big and I felt so odd in a dress and heals but we still had a wonderful evening.

 

Picture 556

All the random things i’ve collected over the years, some meaningful some just fun. An old card wallet belonging to my mum, still has a few of her bits and pieces in along with an old family photo and some keepsake cards. My first MP3 player with all its original tracks on, this was one of the first things I bought with my part time job wages. An old coin found by my grandad years ago, confetti from my 18th birthday, badges I used to collect and clearly I loved Blink 182 as I thought Tom Delonge was god.  My university student card, I didn’t last long at uni but I still keep this to remind myself of that short journey. I am born in the year of the Dragon and the characteristics sum me up to a T.

A pen from Portsmouth, it rained so hard the day I was there and I was wearing flip-flops, I had the worst blisters that day. Five pound coins, this holder was my grandad’s and he always insisted in keeping it in his pocket separate to his wallet. It’s one of the only things I have of his and it might seem trivial but it still means a lot. The postcard at the bottom, my grandma sent to me as the girl on the front reminded her of me when I was a baba.

Picture 557

An old diary of the year 2004. Talking about being reunited with old friends, my first experience in having crushes and a boyfriend, the first ‘I Love You’s’ and many more memories. I laugh at my 16 year old self when I read this now. An old school book of my dad’s, his many doodles of ducks inside. My dad used to be quite artistic and had such a sense of humor. A fairy sketch I did, I always drew them fierce and empowering which was everything I was not!

Google in a nutshell, this was released when Google first materialised and I have kept it ever since.

Picture 558

It’s good to remind myself of where i’ve come from, I look at old photos of myself and wonder did I ever imagine where I would be now back then. Some things I could have predicted, most I wouldn’t have foreseen in my wildest dreams. I thought i’d always live in Bristol and have the same friends, I thought I would never put on anymore weight or grow the curves I wanted, I thought that my first boyfriend and I would be together forever and I certainly didn’t think i’d drop out of university.

Life is is full of surprises.

Picture 560

More random bits and pieces; my Mr Blobby t-shirt, my dad brought this home for me when I was young as I was really ill at the time but totally loved Mr Blobby. I still have this t-shirt, still filthy and aged 5 years. Angel cards, some things in my life that have happened have really made me question if there is something after we pass on. I wanted to find answers and comfort in them, although I still don’t know what is out there I do know I love the art work on these angel cards. My magic key for santa, a house with no chimney needs this key! How on earth will santa get in otherwise!! A childhood bracelet, one of the first pieces of jewellery I owned and I still have it today – a silver teddy bear bracelet.

A handmade ocarina from The Legend of Zelda. I loved this game and still do, so much so I made my own Ocarina of Time.

Picture 559

There are lots more things in my box but I won’t bore you with them all. I hope you have enjoyed that little insight into my life and memories, if there is anything you want to ask about then please do.

Much Love x

 

7 Responses to “A twist on ’50 Facts about me’”

  1. rosie154 July 13, 2013 at 4:35 am #

    Beautiful writing and precious memories! It’s lovely to reflect on the things that shape who we are.
    I found similar things when I cleaned out my childhood bedroom. It’s a shame I have such a small unit as I would keep them all.
    Xo

    • Little Red July 15, 2013 at 12:52 pm #

      Such a shame! I am incredibly sentimental (or just mental…) that I do not have the heart to throw these kind of things away. x

  2. Daphne July 13, 2013 at 9:47 am #

    This post was absolutely beautiful! I love going through old stuff and reliving the past, it can make you smile or make you cry but there’s always that warmth that comes with! It was a pleasure to be able to have a glimpse into your past xx

    • Little Red July 15, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

      Aw thank you Daphne, i’m so glad you enjoyed my post.

      I do enjoy reminiscing occasionally and remembering little things i’d forgotten. Thanks for taking the time to post a lovely comment.

      Ellie xx

  3. Rebecca July 13, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

    What a brilliant box full of memories!

    • Little Red July 15, 2013 at 12:50 pm #

      Hey Rebecca,

      Glad you enjoyed 🙂 Hope you’re getting on well with the Micellar Water x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 50 Facts About Me: With A Twist! | bethanyworrall - July 20, 2013

    […] you can find here, tagged me to share what was in my keepsake box. This was her take on the ‘50 Facts About Me‘ post which is common amongst bloggers. I know some people may find this too personal to […]

Leave a Reply

