Avon Haul – Review

1 Jul

Such fond memories fill my head when I think of Avon. Sitting with my mum as she opened her Avon purchases and feeling grown up flipping through the scented pages of the catalogue. It’s no secret that I love their Supershock Gel Eyeliner which I raved about in my last review.

I was so excited to get some new bits and pieces from Avon as I always love trying new things, I think my boyfriend and I might need to get a bigger house soon to accomodate my ever growing makeup, hair and beauty collection – oopsie!

I love nail polishes and anything nail care and i’m desperately trying to wear brighter colours this year!

Picture 530

This nail polish comes from their Nailwear Pro+ range and is in the shade Inspire (*). It’s a wonderful summery yellow with a cool undertone that would give a great pop of colour to your outfit. I find with nail polish I am an impatient cow, I want it on my nails and dry within minutes because as soon as the first drop hits there is a million and one things I want to do. I mean come on, who hasn’t had the worst urge to go to the toilet as soon as you’ve painted your nails…it’s definitely sods law.

I anticipated this would take a good few coats to get a good colour payoff so I started applying it a bit on the thicker side to try speed things up, mistake that was! The polish only needed 2 decent coats to give a nice opaque colour which pleased me lots, it looks really pleasant but only lasted on my nails a matter of hours before the first sizeable chip…doh silly me forgot to put a top coat on!

This isn’t a colour I would normally purchase, it’s one of those brights that intimidate me, but we’re all about embracing change aren’t we?

Picture 536

 

I also got this blush in the colour Russett (*), on Avon’s website there are nothing but great reviews about this blush range so I was eager to try it for myself. When you look at the picture I hope you share this first impression, you don’t get a lot of product do you? A lovely compact with a mirror and brush but actual product for your money, hmmph maybe that’s just me.

Picture 537

I thought i’d give the free brush that came with it a go, which immediately got thrown over my shoulder in the direction of the bin. It literally gave my cheek a pinky red ‘go faster’ stripe – not attractive… Undeterred however I picked up my trusty blush brush and picked up a small amount of product to apply. It applied on the bright side, I quickly learnt it’s a very pigmented blush and I needed to go over the top with my foundation brush to tone it down to my taste.

This isn’t a blush colour I think overly suits me, instead of a healthy rosy cheek I just look….embarrassed. This would look lovely on a darker skin tone I think, but as for pale and interesting here, it didn’t cut the mustard – Sorry Avon!

Moving swiftly on, the last product I received was another liner! Hurray! Avon Gilmmerstick Diamonds Eyeliner in the colour Twilight (*). This is a beautiful sparkly blue liner and again like its Supershock cousin glided on to give a smooth application. I was super surprised that I didn’t have to do a couple of strokes to get a decent colour payoff – once again Avon delivered with a one stroke wonder. I applied this on my lower lash line and married it with a few coats of my favourite mascara, the pop of colour lasted all day and several people commented on how it caught the light.

Picture 538

So pleased with this little beauty, this is definitely finding a home in my everyday makeup bag. I am buzzing with ideas of making a navy sparkly smokey eye or smudging the liner for a more sultry look.

Please don’t take my words as gospel, if you like the look of any of these products then do feel free to try them out yourself! Just because they might not have been right for me, doesn’t mean they won’t be wonderful on you. One thing I can safely say across the board with everything i’ve tried here – they are FANTASTIC quality for money.

I would love to hear your thoughts, have you tried any of these products? Let me know what your opinions!

Much Love x

11 Responses to “Avon Haul – Review”

  1. runwayprof.com July 2, 2013 at 4:52 pm #

    Hey would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.

    Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider
    at a reasonable price? Kudos, I appreciate it!

  2. Jennifer July 2, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

    I’ve never tried Avon cosmetics before- maybe I’ll have to! Great haul!
    Jennifer

    Nature With Nurture

    • Little Red July 2, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

      Hi Jennifer

      Give them a go! I am sure you’ll find something you’ll love! Thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely comment.

      Ellie

      xx

  3. Clo's Beauty Spot July 3, 2013 at 3:21 pm #

    Omg I love that yellow nail varnish!! I never pick colours like that but its so different and bright I might have to try it! Looks great on you hun x

    • Little Red July 3, 2013 at 3:41 pm #

      I usually play it safe with colours but i’m trying to desperately embrace something different! This is way out of my comfort zone but really liked it! Glad you do too 🙂

      Ellie xx

  4. bethanyworrall July 4, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

    I need that nail polish! x

  5. Laura July 5, 2013 at 4:37 pm #

    I love this that blush! I got it a few weeks ago, after I saw it on an another blog. Its fab isn’t it? I also like the look of that polish too. Very summery! Love the blog chick 🙂 xx
    http://www.heroineinheels.com/

    • Little Red July 5, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

      It is lovely isn’t it!!! It just doesn’t look great on me but for the price it’s wonderful quality! I will not be beaten by the blush though I will keep trying it to make it work for me 🙂 Thanks for commenting!

      Ellie xx

  6. Daphne July 6, 2013 at 7:15 am #

    Hey Red!

    I’m loving that yellow nail polish! It looks supurb on you! xx

    Daphne | Peanut Butter and Chocolate Life

  7. Stef July 8, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

    Ooh that looks like an awesome yellow polish!:)

    • Little Red July 8, 2013 at 8:58 pm #

      Hey Stef!

      Glad you like it, it’s very lovely and bright 🙂
      Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment, it really means a lot!

      Ellie x

Leave a Reply

