The hunt is on – The dress

23 Jun

If you’ve seen my last post you know i’m in a tiz trying to find the perfect summer wedding outfit. This post is dedicated to the finding my ideal dress.

Once I knew I had to find something new to wear I had a firm idea in my head of what I wanted. I thought something along the Nautical style would compliment not only the scenery of the wedding but what the boyfriend has to wear also. Upon searching Google, I found that the only nautical dresses I could find were flimsy jersey material that unless you wear no pants and have a flat washboard tummy are highly unflattering (especially on me)…

284231809This black and white stripe maxi vest dress from Newlook comes in at £16.99 and although it’s nice for summer I wouldn’t wear it to a wedding. This kind of relaxed style dress seems to be mirrored in all the highstreet shops and go-to websites for women’s fashion as far as nautical is concerned.

I really wanted something with a bit more structure…

008555baThis gorgeous dress I spotted in Bank and although it wasn’t nautical it certainly was keeping with the blue/white theme I had pictured. The Little Mistress Alyssa Lace Panel Maxi Dress was on the hanger at £70.00 and although it looked beautiful it just wasn’t “me”.

08555bcI wanted to show you a closer look at the intricate beading and sequins along the lace panels, right up some people’s streets i’m sure but just not up mine. I have quite understated tastes and this was just a bit “much” for me.

My hunt continued…

By now I have kind of come to the conclusion that my initial idea of a beautiful structured stripy maxi dress was out the window. I was feeling a little deflated and overwhelmed….what would I look for now?! 

Over a vanilla latte to boost my spirits I started thinking about how I have been trying to push the boat out and expand my wardrobe colours, anyway sugar boost and pep talk done. Outside of the coffee shop was Pilot so I decided a quick look wouldn’t hurt.

Picture 500

What do you think to this little beauty?! It’s gorgeous isnt it! I found this on a rail and it’s a brand i’m unfamiliar with. This dress by Minimum is only what I can describe as a grecian style maxi dress in a bluey mint colour. It’s a simple dress with an elasticated line just under the bust and hangs beautifully to the floor. I have to say despite being a bit on the booby side I really fell in love with this dress. £70.00 lighter and the first item can be crossed off my itinerary!

Picture 502Now I need to accessorise it accordingly – i’m thinking silvers and light grey and maybe a colour pop of turquoise?

What do you think? Xx

12 Responses to “The hunt is on – The dress”

  1. Caryl June 24, 2013 at 3:14 am #

    That is a wonderful colour on you! Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

    Caryl x
    http://mscarylblogs.wordpress.com/

    • Little Red June 24, 2013 at 7:06 am #

      Aww thank you it’s beautiful I’m still gushing about it! Can’t wait to wear it now!! Thank you for taking the time to read and comment on my blog xxx

  2. Rebecca Anderson June 25, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

    I have the Little Mistress dress 🙂 I love it, totally know what you mean about it not necessarily being everyone’s taste though. I love the one you went for!

    • Little Red June 25, 2013 at 10:56 pm #

      Hi Rebecca!
      The Little Mistress dress was really gorgeous! I loved that they also did it in alternate colours but the dark blue really washed out my skin colour! Totally in love with the dress I bought, so pleased you agree! 🙂 xxx

  3. Chloe July 1, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

    This dress is absolutely stunning! I love it x

    • Little Red July 1, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

      Thanks! I am in love with it too and can’t wait to wear it 🙂 xx

  4. Laura July 3, 2013 at 6:53 am #

    I love the dress the colour is gorgeous. X

    • Little Red July 3, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

      It is lovely isn’t it? It’s really an unusual shade and I can’t wait to wear it!

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment, it means a lot 🙂

      Ellie x

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shopping haul #1 | Little Red - June 25, 2013

    […] The hunt is on – The dress […]

  2. Things they don’t tell you about wedding dress shopping | Sams Happy Ever After - June 25, 2013

    […] The hunt is on – Summer wedding dress (littlered26.wordpress.com) […]

  3. The hunt is on – The shoes | Little Red - June 28, 2013

    […] the hunt for the dress done and the first item clearly scratched off the itinerary we move onto the second item in […]

  4. The Hunt is on – Hair. | Little Red - July 21, 2013

    […] we have the accessories narrowed down (help me pick here), we have the shoes!! and we have the dress (and what a beaut she is!) if you’re interested in how this madness began […]

Leave a Reply

