My product picks for summer

22 Jun

I do not proclaim myself to be a ‘fashionista beauty guru’ but I do love trying new things and finding little gems among the overwhelming range of products on my local highstreet. What girl doesn’t honestly love feeling like she looks her best? Because when you’re looking good, it makes you feel great! (Well it does for me anyway!)..

Lately I have really pushed the boat out and tried to move away from my safe harbour what I know and branch out into the unknown territory of beauty. I thought it would be really nice to share a few of my new discoveries!

Skin

With the seasonal change the weather has turned rather muggy in my little corner of the UK. My skin has unfortunately not welcomed this change and has become super oily. This of course as the story goes has led to several breakouts and me being exceptionally fed up over it all. Instead of admitting defeat, this time I took action!

Botanics Shine Away Mattifying Day Cream

download

This has become my new mattifying mate! This moisturiser is a match made in heaven for my oily/combination skin. It’s all made with natural organic ingredients (sounds rather posh doesn’t it!). The main star of this show is the Willowbark which is supposed to help clarify your skin and provide all day shine control along with hydration and protection. Sounds a lot for this little tub of cream!

In my opinion it’s doing wonders for my skin, I have been applying it on a cleansed face in the morning before make up to give myself a good base to work on. So far without any primer my foundation has been lasting all day and at 17.00 it’s just starting to break down around my nose. Bear in mind, i’ve used no primer and not set with any ‘powder so I am sure this will be a well used product as the summer months continue and whilst we might not get any sunshine, my skin will be shine free! Hurray!!! Despite the thick texture appearance it does blend and absorb into my skin easily and the anti-shine effect is instantly noticeable!

I would definitely recommend this to my fellow oily skinned friends, go try it!! If you needed another reason it’s cheap as chips too so there is NO excuse!!

Palmers Cocoa Butter Formula Purifying Mask

Palmers-Cocoa-Butter-Formula-Purifying-Mask-187397

Still sending offerings of thanks to the skies for the angel that sent this to me as a substitute in my online shopping! My skin has needed a bit of pepping up lately, it’s been a sorry old state! So, I was hunting for a face mask that would do just that. If you’ve not guessed from the product above i’m an oily kinda gal so a clay mask was definitely on the cards.

I am totally in love with this product! It first of all smells amazing, a very light and delicate scent. Once I have smoothed it on my skin it’s instantly cooling and feels very refreshing, although it’s menthol in the ingredients that makes it cool it has NO giveaway smell (thankfully!! – I HATE mint and menthol blergh!).

I normally kick back and relax with this on my mush for 15 to 20 minutes, I know i’m ready to rinse when I can’t move my facial muscles (which cracks my other half up!). It’s easy to remove with warm water and doesn’t leave a residue on your skin. After using this I find my skin is extremely soft, I look refreshed and perkier. I find it helps calm my redness patches and reduces swelling on any nasty spots. I have been using this twice a week now for 3 weeks and I am over the moon with the results, I have even noticed my blackheads disappearing. Palmers – I salute you!

If you’re looking for a clay mask, look no further. I promise you will have no regrets!

Makeup

I am very particular with my makeup as I have extremely fair skin, I find I struggle to find shades that suit me especially when it comes to blusher. I tend to shy away from corals and orangey shades as I am paranoid they clash with my hair colour which is a natural dark strawberry blonde/auburn.

However, I have been converted!

MeMeMe Boho Balm Cheek & Lip Tint

boho_balm_coral_taupe_open_web_1

I have been using the colour combination Coral Taupe and I adore it! It has a creamy texture that is easily blendable with your finger tips and creates a peachy glow for your cheeks or a sheer tint to the lips. I found the taupe shade slightly intimidating at first, but, I quickly took the plunge and tried it as a bronzer/contour and it works wonderfully. Either apply with a brush or your fingers for effortless beauty. The only thing I find at a downside of this little gem is it can be quite hard to open.

This is another highstreet steal so go grab yours today!

Lips by Topshop

20L10DDTY_large

 

How…how on earth have I only just discovered the Topshop Range?! I know beauty bloggers have raved for what seems an age but this range has always been on my “To Do” list. I love dirty pink nudes for my lips, my last favourite being the Revlon Lip Butter in Pink Truffle. I picked up the Lips by Topshop in the colour Beatnik.

First of all the packaging on the entire Topshop range is so cute and although I think the range is a little pricey for some pieces I was eager to see if they lived up to the hype. I have been living in this colour, I think it’s truly versatile and suits my complexion perfectly. I have worn this with an understated summer makeup, a more rock chick grunge look and even to the office. It has a slight shimmer to it and I find it lasts well on my lips.

If you are new to the Topshop range like myself, check this colour out.

Nails

If you’ve read any of my previous posts, you’ll know i’ve gone a wee bit potty over nail polishes lately. I have bought loads but the one colour i’m coming back to time and time again is…(drum roll……)..

Barry M Gelly Hi Shine Nail Paint

Barry-M-Gelly-Hi-Shine-Nail-Paint-Prickly-Pear-187727I own two of these beauties this lovely colour (pictured) Prickly Pear and Blueberry. I love the shiny gloss effect they give and the fact I can be lazy and only do one coat and still get a good colour pay off! I have been rocking this colour most of the time since I bought it and I am almost in need of a second!!! I have to say when I repurchase this I will be buying more colours and I have my eye on Lychee, Green berry, Guava & Pomegranate…

barry-m-gelly-hi-shine-nail-paint-prickly-pear.jpgI am sure that these are well and truly on your radar for the summer, if not..where have you been!

 

I hope you enjoyed my post on product picks for summer, please do feel free to share with me what you’re loving this time of year and if you’ve discovered anything new.

Much Love x

 

 

4 Responses to “My product picks for summer”

  1. The Beauty Revolution June 23, 2013 at 8:26 pm #

    Hey ! Your blog looks so good, I love how it’s set out. Your text is nice and clear, and you don’t have -too- much to read on each post, just enough to get your point across ! Like how you’ve divided your posts up with pictures too :).
    I definitely need to try some of the topshop lipsticks that you talked about on this post, I’ve heard so much about them !
    Keep up the good work !

    Much love, Sarah.x

    • Little Red June 23, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

      Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting it really means a lot! Looking forward to your next post xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shopping haul #1 | Little Red - June 25, 2013

    […] My product picks for summer […]

  2. The Skincare Tag | Little Red - August 29, 2013

    […] Formula Purifying Mask Love slapping this on when my skin is a little lack lustre a mini review here, St Ives Blemish Fighting Apricot Scrub staple daily facial scrub, Soap & Glory Hot Cloth […]

Leave a Reply

