A Diary of My First Tattoo

2 Jun

Picture 191

Like any normal teenager I went through a copious amount of phases. I wanted EVERYTHING pierced and a couple of tattoos thrown in there too. The scene I was surrounded by in my late teens was alternative, so piercings, tattoos and gorgeous long haired rockers were everywhere. Safe to say that this enforced all of the above tenfold.

My mother insisted I didn’t need anything and I was banned till 18, I thought she was just horrendously uncool.

Anyway fast forward a few years and the idea of getting a tattoo had not disappeared, so I started researching.  I had a clear idea of the design and placement it was just could I bear the pain?…

My pain threshold is craptastic, I am a whimp. Needles….hell no, injections cannot even watch – how on earth would I do a tattoo?

I started asking friends and work colleagues who had them, my constant questioning of “Did it hurt?” “Was it painful” got boring fast and I highly suspect they went from telling me the truth to tall tales of excruciating pain and infections….gits.

In addition to this, I researched healing techniques and blogs online I wanted to try prepare myself in every way possible, expect the worst and hope for the best kind of thing.

Having chosen my tattoo studio and artist, I went ahead and booked…. DUM DUM DUUUUUUM… 4 weeks to wait and convince myself I could go through it.

Needless to say it came round bloody quick.

On the day of the appointment I was sick with nerves, I tried to eat something beforehand but failed miserably. Once at the tattoo studio, they checked I was happy with my design and transferred it into place.

If only it were that easy huh?

My chosen design looked beautiful and I knew it was something I couldn’t turn back from now, aside from that i’d never had lived it down….told too many people (schoolgirl error!)

So here we go, the tattoo gun buzzed to life and he asked if he could start. I took a deep breath and waited for the horrific pain I had worked myself up for, I was pleasantly surprised!!!

I did not find it painful at all, just a little uncomfortable but nothing that could not be dealt with. It honestly felt like it tickled in places and I was so happy to be able to watch the artist work.

Picture 190

As the time passed my beautiful design was taking shape I was nothing but overwhelmed at the detail and intricacy of his art. As he moved onto the ribbon over my ankle bone, this was where the pain got a little worse…

It felt how I can only describe as being scratched with a knife tip, but again it wasn’t anything I couldn’t handle…

Picture 204

An hour and 30 minutes later, my tattoo was complete. I felt champion….(I did it, huzzah!)

I was advised to use the ‘wet healing’ method in order to keep the ink pigment dark and crisp. Keeping it covered with clingfilm and nappyrash cream was hard. It iiiiiiiitched so bad, but after 3 days I discarded the use of clingfilm during the day and just slathered it with cream.

I had heard mixed thoughts and opinions on this type of healing method, but honestly I would recommend it as it worked perfectly for me.

I am so pleased with my tattoo and proud of myself for going through with it. My tattoo means so much to me and represents some important people and moments i’ve experienced in life. It feels like part of me that has been there forever.

Much Love x

5 Responses to “A Diary of My First Tattoo”

  1. Chloe July 1, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    Beautiful tattoo. Can’t believe you said it didnt hurt. Mine was the worst pain I have ever felt in my whole life. Its was horrendous. I said to myself I am never doing this again and getting another one… But I have my next one booked up already hehe x

    • Little Red July 1, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

      I think I was lucky to be honest! Where did you have your first tattoo? My artist was also quite light handed I think if he’d of been heavy handed and put more pressure on whilst working it would have been really painful. However I really did work myself up for the worst possible pain ever, maybe that helped! What are you getting next? I am toying with the idea definitely 🙂 xx

  2. 行動電源 July 1, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

    This blog will be the greatest. You have a new fan! I can’t wait for your subsequent update, bookmarked!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tips on Quote Tattoo Design | tenthmessage - June 4, 2013

    […] A Diary of My First Tattoo (littlered26.wordpress.com) […]

  2. The Sunshine Award | Little Red - August 24, 2013

    […] have one tattoo which I got in August 2012. This is symbolic to me in many ways, and is completely unique. […]

Leave a Reply

